Important IPL records you must know about

The most successful and one of the most popular leagues in cricket across the World is Indian Premier League. This league is full of fun, entertainment, and money. This league was founded in 2007 by Board of control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Except for some controversies like spot-fixing, this league is running successfully year after year. The league has completed their 11th season.

Important IPL records you must know about

12th editions of this league will start from 23rd March 2019. Less than 10 days are remaining and the fever of IPL is going to take fans in the festive mood of cricket. The opening match for this season will be played between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challenger Bangalore. With the successive editions, IPL reaches new heights.

From the very first day of Indian Premier League in 2008 to the 11th edition, many records are made and broken during every edition. Here we bring some of the popular records in IPL history. Have a Look and share with friends if you love this article. Predict the winner of this edition and write to us in the comments section.

CSK vs RCB will opening Game this Year


Most Runs:

The leading run-scorer at the beginning of 12th edition is Suresh Raina with 4985 runs in 176 matches in his account. He is one of the key players of Chennai Super Kings. He scored One century and 35 fifties.

Suresh Raina: leading run-scorer

Highest Individual Score

Chris Gayle holds the highest individual score record in IPL by hitting 175 not out runs in just 66 balls against Pune Warriors. In this match, the total scored by RCB was the highest ever team total.

Chris Gayle: highest individual score

Most Numbers of Sixes

In this list, Chris Gayle is on the top spot with 292 maximums. The Gaps between him and Ab de Villiers for the number of maximum is more than 100 sixes. AB de Villiers in on the second spot with 186 sixes.

Chris Gayle: Hit most numbers of Sixes

Most Number of fours

With 491 fours in IPL career, Gautam Gambhir is on Top spot in the list of most number of four in IPL. Shikhar Dhawan is on second with 460 fours.

Gautam Gambhir smashed most number of four

Fastest century

Chris Gayle holds the records for the fastest century. He smashed his century in just 30 deliveries against Pune Warriors India.

Chris Gayle: Fastest Century

Fastest half-century

KL Rahul during the 11th edition against Delhi Capitals (Delhi Daredevils) smashed fastest half-century. He scored 51 runs in just 14 deliveries. During his inning, he smashed 4 sixes and 6 fours.

KL Rahul: Fastest fifty

Highest Partnership

Against Gujarat Lions in 2016 edition, the two superheroes from Royal Challenger Bangalore, Virat Kohli, and AB De Villiers scored 229 runs together, which is the highest standing partnership till the starting of this edition.

Virat Kohli & AB de Villiars: Highest Partnership


Maximum number of wickets

Mumbai Indians’ fast Bowler, Lasith Malinga holds the record for the most number of wickets in IPL seasons so far. Notably, Malinga has not participated in 2008 and 2018 editions of IPL. From his 110 matches, he took 154 wickets.

Lasith Malinga: Maximum Number of Wickets

Best Bowling Figure

From the very first edition of IPL, Sohail Tanveer holds the records for Best bowling figure in IPL history. He took 6 CSKians wickets for just 14 runs while playing for Rajasthan Royals.

Sohail Tanveer: Best Bowling figure

Best Bowling economy

Sunil Narine holds the record for the most economical bowler in IPL with an economy rate of 6.53.

Sunil Narine: Most Economical

Maximum Numbers of Maiden Overs

With 14 maiden overs, Praveen Kumar is on the top spot of maximum numbers of Maiden overs. While with 10 maidens, Irfan Pathan is on the second spot.

Praveen Kumar: Maximum no. of Maiden Over

Maximum runs conceded in an innings

During 2018 edition, for playing Sunrisers Hyderabad Basil Thampi conceded 70 runs in his four overs against RCB. This is the highest runs conceded by a bowler in an innings in IPL history.

Basil Thampi: Highest Run Conceded Bowler

Most Number of hat tricks

With three times, Spinner Amit Mishra has bagged the maximum number of hat tricks in IPL history. During 2008, 2011 and 2013, he has clinched this achievement.

Amit Mishra: Most no. of Hat tricks


Highest Total

During the 2013 edition, with the help of Chris Gayle knock of 175 runs, Royal Challenger Bangalore put up 263/5 against PWI. This has been the highest ever total registered by any franchise. RCB is also on the second spot with 248/3 against Gujarat Lions in 2016.

RCB: Highest Team Total

Lowest total

In this list of the lowest team total in the history of IPL, RCB features on the top spot. During 2017 edition RCB bowled out for 49 runs against KKR, the lowest total by any franchise in IPL history.

RCB: Lowest Team Total

Most numbers of Wins

With 97 won, Mumbai Indians is on the top spot in the list of the maximum number of wins by any franchise.

Mumbai Indians: Most no. of Wins

Highest win percentage

CSK has won 91 matches out of 150 games with 57 defeats; CSK has the highest win percentage of 61.07. CSK is the most successful IPL franchise in case of win percentage.

CSK: Highest Win Percentage

Most Defeats

Delhi Capitals (Delhi Daredevils) has lost 91matches. This is the maximum by any franchise.

Delhi Capitals: Most no. of defeats

Check Out Here: First Two Weeks IPL 2019 Schedule


Most Matches played

Suresh Raina leads to playing the maximum number of matches. With 176 matches, he is on the top spot.

Suresh Raina: Play Maximum no. of Match

Most Catches

Suresh Raina is one of the best fielders in India and also in IPL. With 95 catches, he is on the top spot.

Suresh Raina: Maximum No. of Catches

Maximum Stumpings

With 33 stumpings, MS Dhoni has achieved the most number of stumping in iPL history so far.

MS Dhoni: Maximum no. of stamping

Most Dismissals

Dinesh Karthik holds the IPL records for most dismissals. He has most dismissals to his name which is 124. Out of 124 dismissals, the number of catches is 94 and the number of stumpings is 30. MS Dhoni is on the second spot with 116 dismissals.

Dinesh Karthik: Maximum no. of dismissal

Maximum number of man of the matches

Chris Gayle has won the man of the match award for 20 times, which is maximum for any player.

Chris Gayle: Maximum no. of MoM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *